This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Is there something fishy going on?

cath135
Is there something fishy going on?

Postby cath135 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:23 pm

Hi everyone,
I need some advice with a long standing issue I've had with my current employer. I'm a chef and have been employed within a business since April 2017. I am struggling to make heads or tails of my payslips and tax situation so will try and provide as much info as possible in the hopes someone can offer me some serious help as I am beginning to suspect something dodgey is going on.
I was originally employed on a salary of 23,000 which increased to 25,000 at the end of my first year (April 2018). I did not receive a P60 for that year (after multiple requests) and was later informed by HMRC that I had underpaid on tax for 17/18 and that they would be altering my tax code (To 1004L) to collect the amount of £316. I obviously could not check this without a p60 and it is worth noting that I very rarely receive payslips (have received 6 in the two years I've worked there!). In September of 2018 I was promoted to head chef with an immediate increase in Salary to 26k which, after a 3 month probationary period ending on 1st December 2018 would be increased to 30k. To date my employer has not paid me on a 30k salary. The most I have ever earned in a month, before tax, is £2208 and that was back in December 2017!

My issue is that;