This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Interaction between VAT and income tax

Samuel L. Jackson
Interaction between VAT and income tax

Postby Samuel L. Jackson » Tue Jan 21, 2020 5:40 am

Hey there. Since this is anonymous, I will be completely frank with all the financial information. I’m a software developer with a full time job, and I’m taking on a job as a freelancer in my spare time. The question is, do I need to register for VAT?

I make 80,000£ in my main job, which puts me in the 40% tax bracket. The job is offering 3,500$ per month.

Here are the two situations I’m considering:

1. I don’t register for VAT, and I don’t charge it
So my final monthly earnings from this job is 0.6*3500 = 2100$

2. I do register for VAT, and I charge it
Since I’m performing a service for the client’s business, he will be able to claim VAT back, so no changes for him.

From my side, I still need to pay my income tax of 40%. 20% will come from the VAT, leaving me with 0.8*3500 = 2800$ i.e. more than the previous example

Obviously, the second scenario works better for me, but is my understanding even correct? If it’s not correct, can someone please explain what would be the correct calculation?

Thank you.

pawncob

Re: Interaction between VAT and income tax

Postby pawncob » Thu Jan 23, 2020 7:44 pm

Why would you register for VAT?
1. You're earning $ so not in the UK and not liable to VAT
2. With a turnover of £42k you don't have to register.