This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Need help with foreign tax

DrTails
Need help with foreign tax

Postby DrTails » Thu Jun 04, 2020 10:18 am

I am a UK resident running a web hosting business, I have done so for a few years and I am starting to accept customers worldwide. All my income was originally from UK residents where card and PayPal payments would all come from the UK. Now I am starting to get customers from all over the world.

Ultimately all income is going directly to my UK PayPal and UK bank, and both merchants use currency conversions to have all my income into GBP. I don't have any assets, properties or residency in any other country apart from the UK.

Does any of this come under 'foreign income' and should I be declaring it as such? I've read up about it for a long while and from my understanding it only seems to be relevant to people that have assets, bank accounts or some form of residency in foreign countries, so I just need a little clarification to help me clear this up.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

AGoodman

Re: Need help with foreign tax

Postby AGoodman » Thu Jun 04, 2020 2:37 pm

Not an area of expertise but I'm fairly confident that this is UK income because it derives from your UK trade (i.e. you run your business here).