This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Foreign Tax Credit Relief

afisch75
Foreign Tax Credit Relief

Postby afisch75 » Sun Jul 05, 2020 9:34 am

Hi everyone, I'd really appreciate some help with how to declare the following slightly complicated situation in my self assessment:

I'm a UK resident in the higher tax band and was granted stock options while being employed in Ireland. Sold these earlier this year and paid tax in Ireland as I'm liable in the country where the options where granted. Even though Capital Gain was realised, the sale was taxed as income with about 27%.

If I was liable in the UK, my understanding is that I would have to pay 20% tax on the capital gain. Because Ireland already taxed me with a higher rate, I don't have to pay additional tax and can claim Foreign Tax Credit Relief. Is this correct and if so, how do I declare the sale and relief in my self assessment?

Or would the UK treat the sale as income as well and will I need to pay the difference to my current tax rate, let's say 45% - 27% = 18%. If so, can I substract the capital gain allowance of 12k?

Thanks a lot for any help with this!

darthblingbling

Re: Foreign Tax Credit Relief

Postby darthblingbling » Sun Jul 05, 2020 11:21 am

Were you also Irish tax resident at the time of sale of the shares?