This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Van for Sole Trader

DMES
Van for Sole Trader

Postby DMES » Fri Feb 12, 2021 5:38 pm

Hi,
For background; I am a sole trader preparing accounts on a traditional basis. This is my first year of trading and, whilst I have made a profit during the year, due to start-up costs I will not breach my personal allowance and, thus, not pay any tax in this year.
During the year I purchased a van purely for business use knowing that there were faults that needed repairing. The van was purchased from my Brother-in-Law for £2k, the trade book value of the van based upon the model, age & mileage was given to me by my insurers as £4.5k. I spent £1.7k rectifying the faults known on purchase.

My question is this; what value do I transfer the van into the general pool at? is it £2k and charge the £1.7k repairs against profit in the year? Do I assume that I have purchased the van and repaired it then transferred it into the business at the book value advised by my insurers (documented)? - I have no capital gains chargeable in the year so this would not be an issue.

Obviously I would rather carry as much of the cost forward in order to benefit in future years as I fully expect to be paying income tax from my second year of trading.
Thanks in advance.

robbob

Re: Van for Sole Trader

Postby robbob » Sat Feb 13, 2021 10:09 am