This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Split Year Treatment with Time deposit income while come to UK

kingbirdogd
Split Year Treatment with Time deposit income while come to UK

Postby kingbirdogd » Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:57 pm

I start a time deposit in Hong Kong on 20th February 2020, the source of funds is from Hong Kong, I was a Hong Kong tax resident at that time. The time deposit maturity date is 22nd February 2021 and I will get the interest HKD 30,000 , around 3000 pounds on that day(22nd February)

I arrived UK on 19th August 2020 because I got a job in UK, I became UK tax resident on that day, but I can't withdraw my time deposit before I came to UK

I receive my interest in my Hong Kong account on 22nd February 2021, the amount is HKD 30000, around 3000 GBP.

I am quality for Split Year Treatment. So can I split this saving interest income to UK tax resident part and non-UK resident part? because my saving interest date of the resolution is 20th February 2020 which I was still HK tax resident but not UK tax resident. And I have no plan and no intention to go to the UK on 0th February 2020

Thanks & Regards.

maths

Re: Split Year Treatment with Time deposit income while come to UK

Postby maths » Fri Apr 23, 2021 3:10 pm

The interest is subject to UK income tax on 22 Feb 2021 on its receipt despite split year treatment for tax year 20/21.