This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

UK tax resident moving abroad

marinero
UK tax resident moving abroad

Postby marinero » Tue Jun 15, 2021 11:48 am

Hi everyone,

I am an UK tax resident (Greek citizen) moving out of the UK on the 30th of Sept 2021 to get a new job in Hong Kong.
I have an income in the UK as well as from Greece. I also have investments.

Now that I am moving permanently to Hong Kong I want to make sure I don't pay UK tax on my Greek income or any other capital gains that arises (I am unlikely to return to the UK):

--> 1) Do I need to tell the UK government I am leaving in order to avoid paying income on my Greek income? How do I do that?

--> 2) If instead of quiting my job, I take a 2-3 year unpaid leave while working out of Hong Kong would the UK government consider me a UK tax resident?

--> 3) If I move on the 30th of Sept as planned I will have been in the UK less than 6 months in the current tax year. Does that mean I can say I have not been a tax resident for the entire year or am I liable for tax on my global earning until I leave? Ie is the tax year "all or nothing" or can they treat you differently from month to month?

Thank you very much!

darthblingbling

Re: UK tax resident moving abroad

Postby darthblingbling » Tue Jun 15, 2021 2:18 pm