This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

MTD- is it a waste of space?

pawncob
MTD- is it a waste of space?

Postby pawncob » Thu Feb 24, 2022 5:03 pm

I submitted my 20/21 return on 22/04/21.
Today I received a text thanking me for submitting it and requesting that I pay any outstanding tax.
Being a conscientious accountant, I paid my tax by the due date, so I logged on to my account to find out how much might be due.
The message was :
There is a temporary problem with one of our systems. It means we cannot show your actual taxable income or details of the Income Tax and National Insurance you have already paid.

Are they really ten months behind? Will they ever catch up? Are we all doomed to live in cyberspace at the mercy of HMRC? ;)
With a pinch of salt take what I say, but don't exceed your RDA

etf

Re: MTD- is it a waste of space?

Postby etf » Sat Feb 26, 2022 12:46 am

By Trevor Brunwin
25th Feb 2022 10:36
I received a letter, posted on 17 February 2022, which started "Thank you for your letter dates 27 April 2021." What would happen if my practice did that to our clients or our friends at HMRC, I wonder?

By clp
25th Feb 2022 10:43
It has never been this bad.
What is worse now is that the first 2 minutes on any call is spent listening to recorded messages about not abusing staff and no we cant answer questions on assessment letters the info is on the letter and so on including comments on gender reassignment.