This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

DTA interpretation - practical aspects

Brightonian
DTA interpretation - practical aspects

Postby Brightonian » Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:02 pm

I have no experience of claiming relief under DTAs. I have a client, a dual UK/S African national, who went to work in Italy in 2014. I have completed returns for the last few years to show rental income on their UK property. I have shown him as non-resident by virtue of automatic overseas test 3, working full-time abroad. However, in 2017/18, his wife came back to live in the UK family home. Since August 2017, he has worked 5 days a week in Rome and come back to the UK at weekends. His total number of days and work days in the UK in the tax year is too high to claim non-residence and, by virtue of the ties test, he is resident in the UK. He is also resident in Italy and being paid a salary there and paying Italian tax.
I have looked at the DTA and the various tie-break questions. From the example on the HMRC helpsheet and other information I have found online, it looks like the UK is his centre of vital interests but, even if it isn't, he is a UK national and, ultimately, that will make him UK resident under the treaty.