This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Estimated IHT bill

kanrent
Estimated IHT bill

Postby kanrent » Mon Sep 07, 2020 7:21 am

Hi I have written a will leaving everything to my wife and daughter.
I am a non resident British citezen and UK domicile.
My daughter is a British citizen but not resident and not UK domicile.
My wife is 100% forign, (not UK resident and not UK domicile and not British citizen)
I intend to leave my UK house to my daughter which is currently rented out and has been for the last 20 years, before it was previously my home and my only property.
I will leave remaining cash to my wife.
The house is valued at £400,000
And the cash to my wife stands at £200,000
Can anyone advise what my IHT bill would be after my death
Thanks

AnthonyR

Re: Estimated IHT bill

Postby AnthonyR » Mon Sep 07, 2020 11:48 am

Your gift to your wife is exempt under the spousal exemption (although as she is non-domiciled it is limited to £325,000 - although not relevant in your case as it's under the limit).

Your remaining gift to your daughter will be subject as follows:

Gift --- £400,000
Nil rate band (£325,000)
Residence nil rate band (£75,000)
Taxable - Nil

You qualify for the residence nil rate band as the property was formerly your home, so as long as your daughter inherits the property directly then you will get an additional relief of up to £175,000.