This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

Tax on Expenses Change

whitelightening444
Tax on Expenses Change

Postby whitelightening444 » Mon May 21, 2018 10:36 am

I have been working for a company for 8 years. I initially worked onset with a client for them 5 days a week with a normal take home pay. They lost the contract with the client and I was offered a position to stay with the company (possibly 2013) where my permanent base would be at home at I would work a couple of days in a Leeds where required.

This was reflected in my contract where it stated that my permanent place of work was at home and I would be required to be in the office a minimum of two days a week. Because the Leeds office was not a permanent place of work this point, they agreed to pay full expenses; including to and from the office (fuel and train tickets), lunch, parking at the station. This has occurred for many years.

At the end last year I had a meeting with one of my bosses, who informed me that due to an audit which might happen in the company and the law changing I was seen a someone making a regular journey to the Leeds Office (despite my contract saying minimum of two days) therefore it makes it permenant. Therefore they would have to amend my contract and I would be taxed on these two days but advised this would be minimal. They said the law had changed recently and as I had been doing this for so long it needed to be taxable expenses. So I signed the contract which stated: