This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

NI Paid on Shares

daint
NI Paid on Shares

Postby daint » Fri Aug 17, 2018 11:25 am

Hello all,

I'm wondering if anyone is able to help, I'm fairly inexperienced in this area so I may not use the correct terminology but hopefully I'll be able to explain clearly enough.

I'm a UK citizen and resident who worked for a US business for about 3 years starting early 2012. Upon joining the company I was issues a number of shares that would begin to vest after 12 months, then every 6 months after that until all shares had vested - although I left prior to 100% vesting. I ended up with about 50% of the shares vested. I don't believe I was ever paid any dividends (if that's even possible?).

When I set up the share payments I was led to believe that it was best to pay UK tax at that point, rather than upon selling as this would be a more cost effective way of eventually getting hold of the cash. Each time the shares vested I was given a payslip by my employer with details about the tax and NI contributions paid, and it seemed that a number of shares were sold at the point of vesting to cover the tax and therefore this appeared to be what the payslip was in relation to. I recall checking through at the time and it seemed to make sense - and was in line with many other employees in a similar boat.