This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about cookies on this website and how to delete cookies, see our Cookie Policy.
Analytics

Tools which collect anonymous data to enable us to see how visitors use our site and how it performs. We use this to improve our products, services and user experience.

Essential

Tools that enable essential services and functionality, including identity verification, service continuity and site security.

Where Taxpayers and Advisers Meet

I am on a Payroll for a company that I never worked for

Sole trader
I am on a Payroll for a company that I never worked for

Postby Sole trader » Sun Feb 13, 2022 7:36 pm

Hello, I am an online sole trader, since Covid business isn't doing well, I have sent several applications to companies to apply for a job. I started working with different companies since the start of the pandemic. I received yesterday an email from HMRC saying my tax code has changed, I logged into my account and found out I was on a Payroll for a company that I never worked for, the statement shows I was getting paid every month since May 2021 therefore there are Tax and national insurance to be paid. Do I contact first the company or HMRC about this problem? were taxes and national insurance already been paid or they are due to be paid ? Your help is much appreciated. Thank you

darthblingbling

Re: I am on a Payroll for a company that I never worked for

Postby darthblingbling » Sun Feb 13, 2022 8:41 pm

You mention you've done work for several companies. The name used on the payroll doesn't always match who you'd expect your employer so may be genuine. Usually the case if you work for a franchise as the actual employer name will be different to the franchise's name.

It's the employers obligation to withhold PAYE and NI.